Saturday, May 23, 2020

How Veal Crates Are Used in Factory Farms

One of the biggest arguments made by non-vegetarians is that dairy is not harmful to the animals since the animal does not need to be killed for dairy products. But to animal-rights activists, stealing milk right from the mothers breasts from a baby anything is despicable. Should we deny a baby the nutrition he needs to grow just so humans can drink it and get fat and laden with cholesterol? Veal in the Dairy Industry Thats not the worst of it. Veal is a by-product of the dairy industry. Like all mammals, female cows must be kept constantly pregnant in order to lactate. In a process called freshening, female cows, called wet cows after giving birth, are kept unnaturally lactating to maximize their milk production. Male calves are taken from their mothers at birth because they are not useful for milk production. These calves are turned into veal. Some female calves are also turned into veal because they are not needed for dairy production. The excess dairy calves are the wrong breed to be useful for beef production, so they are usually slaughtered for veal when they are between 8 and 16 weeks old.   Why Veal Production and Crates Are Controversial Veal crates are used in factory farming to confine dairy calves. The calves are chained and do not have enough room to move or turn around in a crate that measures 22 by 54 inches. Veal production is controversial because many people regard the extreme confinement as excessively cruel. The crates are so small, the animals cannot turn around. This keeps their muscles soft and unused which produces the pale, anemic meat consumers demand. Also, the calves are fed a synthetic formula instead of their mothers’ milk, this formula lacks iron, and causes a variety of health problems. Water is withheld so the calves will crave the formula. The formula has a laxative effect, so the calves are plagued with diarrhea which not only causes painful cramping, but also serious rashes down their legs where the fecal matter, which contains stomach acid in it, burns their skin. Their rectums are also painful, burning and swollen. The method whereby veal is created is so cruel, that many enlightened non-vegetarians have sworn off veal completely because they know they could never enjoy a meal when the animal on their plates suffered intensely.   To add insult to injury, cows are associated with motherhood because they are more doting on their babies than a Jewish mom with her son. Cows have been spotted with tears running down their faces when they hear their calves crying for their mothers.   While some animal advocates work to ban the use of veal crates, the slaughter of any animal for food is antithetical to animal rights, regardless of how much room the animals have when they are alive. Examples of Anti-Veal Crate Initiatives Californias Prop 2, a ballot initiative that was approved by California voters in 2008, banned the use of veal crates and took effect in 2015. The Animal Law Resource Center proposed a model bill and presents a history of legislation addressing veal crates. Edited by  Michelle A. Rivera, Animal Expert

Monday, May 11, 2020

Analysis Of John Proctor s The Crucible - 1344 Words

Margaret Rauch Ms. Schmiedeler English 2D 27 October 2014 Die or Deceive: An Examination of John Proctor In 1692, Salem Massachusetts was overridden with mass hysteria. Allegations of witchery were widespread and people were killed for crimes they never committed. It seemed as if the theocracy no longer upheld the principles of Heaven, but rather submitted to the wild impulses of the New England mobs. Arthur Miller delivers a heart-wrenching account of these trials in his play The Crucible. Amidst the struggle is Miller’s protagonist, John Proctor, a well-respected man who staunchly chooses to live against the grain; his views and lifestyle differ from those accepted in Salem’s theocracy. John is conflicted and confused. He has previously had an affair with a seventeen-year-old named Abigail. John looks to move on from this incident and make amends with his wife. John cannot believe one thing and do another, yet he desperately wants to protect his life. John struggles to choose between what he believes is true and what society tells him is right. He ultimately chooses to d o what he believes is noble, even though it means death. John’s decisions reflect his motives and his change in character. John Proctor, driven by his search for self, attempts to mend his ways and defies Salem’s theocracy, causing him to tell the truth and ultimately find redemption. John Proctor, although respected, feels conflicted between his beliefs and those of society’s. John Proctor is aShow MoreRelatedAnalysis Of John Proctor s The Crucible 1223 Words   |  5 PagesFORGET In common vernacular, a crucible is used to heat substances in order to become more pure or perfect; however, when a town with strict theology and no tolerance is subject to the grueling torture of innocent lives dying for a false cause, the result is anything but perfect. Though John Proctor does find some relief in his redemption at the end, by no means does the drama have a happy ending. Though it is somewhat plausible to define Arthur Miller’s drama, The Crucible, as a comedy, there is overwhelmingRead MoreAnalysis Of John Proctor s The Crucible 899 Words   |  4 PagesWhat is the protagonist s (main character s) main objective? John Proctor is a man living in distress after cheating on his wife Elizabeth with a former servant Abigail. He believes that him committing adultery is a sin big enough to damage his character, Elizabeth becoming less trusting of him and publicly exposing his infidelity would only add insult to injury. As the play progresses however, John Proctor capitulates, acknowledging his affair thinking it would clear his and his wife’s name fromRead MoreAnalysis Of John Proctor s The Crucibles 1212 Words   |  5 PagesCeline Christiansen Mrs. Evans English III H November 23, 2015 The Crucibles â€Å"I have given you my soul; leave me my name!† bellowed John Proctor to Danforth in Act IV. The Crucibles was written by Arthur Miller reminiscent of McCarthyism in the 1950s. Reputation and integrity is set forward in the story, as it causes the plot to develop and advance, and it is discernible all throughout the story, especially the end. Reputation is tremendously significant in theocratic SalemRead MoreThe Crucible By Arthur Miller998 Words   |  4 Pageswith confessions of a meeting with the devil, continuing with declaring a reunification with Jesus, and ending with of course, accusing others of witchcraft. The false confessions favor the dishonest and are motivated by jealousy and spite. The Crucible is a four-act dramatic play production that was first performed on January 22, 1953. Arthur Miller used dialogue within the characters to cover the multiple themes; conflicts and resolutions, plus the few directions for the different actions ofRead MoreThe Crucible By Arthur Miller1138 Words   |  5 Pages Arthur Miller’s The Crucible takes place in a puritan 17th century Salem town, where a distinct line separates right from wrong. Puritan ideals define the individuals living in Salem, and John Proctor, the protagonist, finds himself struggling to realize and act on these ideals. Miller portrays Proctor in different lights throughout the course of the play, as Proctor often finds himself engrossed in the heat of the hysteria driven town. His character starts out lacking any heroic or admirable featuresRead MoreAnalysis Of Arthur Miller s The Crucible 1052 Words   |  5 Pagesfor the Federal Theatre, which provided work for unemployed writers, actors, direct ors, and designers. Miller s creative writing career span was over a sixty year span and during this time, Miller had written twenty-six plays. He wrote The Crucible in 1953 then later wrote the screenplay for the movie version which was produced in 1996 (CliffNotes, Authur Miller Biography). Miller s first play to make it to Broadway was in 1944. It was The Man Who Had All the Luck but it was a disheartening failureRead MoreThe Salem Witch Trials869 Words   |  4 Pagesand corruption, have always reverberated throughout American history and people need constant reminders to stay vigilant and aware. As a writer, I am able to reach a large audience with this reminder and I saw my play The Crucible â€Å"as a vehicle for political commentary† (Crucible Drama Critism). I paralleled my experiences during McCarthyism with the tragedies of the Salem Witch trials to not only remind the public that history can repeat itself, but to also demonstrate my disgust with the hypocrisyRead MoreThe Crucible By John Proctor849 Words   |  4 Pages The Crucible Analysis: Is John Proctor a tragic hero based on Aristotle`s definition of a tragic hero An array of Aristotelian tragic heroes can be found throughout American literature. One of which includes John Proctor, main character farmer in mid-30s, from Arthur Miller s play, The Crucible. Yet, in order for him to obtain such a title he must possess specific characteristics. Five of which include possession of hubris, a flaw or decision leading to desire for revenge, a reversal of goodRead MoreThe Crucible By Arthur Miller1606 Words   |  7 PagesOur English II class approached Arthur Miller’s The Crucible from a way unique to any previous English assignment. We decided to operate as an unified ensemble to generate a singular and complete project that demonstrated our growth as readers, writers, and thinkers. Originally we were scared at the prospect of this unorthodox assignment; as Jada put it, â€Å"[we] thought it was gonna be a hot mess† (Jant). But in the end, I believe it was correct to do it as an ensemble. We were able to work as individualRead MoreThe Crucible By John Proctor1134 Words   |  5 PagesIn The Crucible, Abigail Williams, John Proctor, and Elizabeth Proctor are arguably the most important characters. The affair between Abigail and John drives the plot of the play. Abigail begins accusing societal outcasts as witches and gradually works her way up the social ladder until she is able to accuse an upstanding citizen like Elizabeth Proctor of being a witch and having people believe the accusation. She accused Elizabeth of being a witch so that Elizabeth would be hanged. Then, Abigail

Wednesday, May 6, 2020

LTG. Timothy J. Maude. Free Essays

Lieutenant General Timothy Maude was killed on September 11th 2001 in Pentagon attack. He had been serving as Deputy Chief of staff for Personnel in the army. He was born on 18th November 1947 in Indianapolis in India. We will write a custom essay sample on LTG. Timothy J. Maude. or any similar topic only for you Order Now His long character of understanding human spirit will never be forgotten. According to him, the well being of civilians, veterans, families, retirees, and soldiers was determined by the concept of readiness within the force. The success within the army with a component of oneness was a standard that defined human nature which fostered a great attribute to him in providing and understanding of this phenomenon. According to him, the current young generations were aimed at providing a greater capacity than oneself which could oblige them in the aspect of duty as their most noble endeavor for the country. (http://www.maudefoundation.org/aboutTim.html) The future of the US army is to be influenced by his contributions and values in support of humanity founded on the influence of the army personnel. He had great love for his soldiers which even led to great sigh of devotion in the deepest and most genuine capacity. His long love trailed in the soldiers, the army and the whole country. In every of his action, commitment for his duty was cheerfully reflected. His death left many of his compassionate activities, contributions and values he exercised for the good of the country. His contribution as a G-1 officer remains remarkable in remembrance. He had a vision for the people in providing transformation through giving adequate standards for the persons providing human resource in the army. This is an aspect worth of emulation by others. (http://www.maudefoundation.org/aboutTim.html) He’s adequate affection and love of the people, army and country is perhaps the greatest epoch of values which the future commanders and army personnel should emulate. He serviced the cost of his roles with integrity which was occupied by his great will of revolution to provide the will and the good image of the country. According to him, his generosity in duty performance served to support the fundamental objectives allied to the G-1 occupation; well being, the force and the personnel. Generally, it was great for the Maude and the future army activity should emulate his advocacy. As a warrant officer 1 in the army the actions, values and contributions of Maude should never be evaded. At one level, his love for the country, the army, the soldiers and the families should act as an example to other warranty officers. Elsewhere, his transformation attitude for the army personnel to a better personality is a key element of emulation. Nevertheless, he had a great vow in developing the human resource capacity through a good leadership model which should also be a character and value of emulation by other personnel. Bibliography. The Maude Foundation. About Tim. Retrieved on 22nd March 2008 from,   Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚   http://www.maudefoundation.org/aboutTim.html       How to cite LTG. Timothy J. Maude., Essay examples

Thursday, April 30, 2020

Wuthering Heights Essay Paper Example For Students

Wuthering Heights Essay Paper A monologue from the novel by Emily Bronte NOTE: This monologue is reprinted from Wuthering Heights. Emily Bronte. New York: Harper Brothers, 1848. HEATHCLIFF: It began oddly. You know I was wild after she died; and eternally, from dawn to dawn, praying her to return to me her spirit! I have a strong faith in ghosts: I have a conviction that they can, and do, exist among us! The day she was buried, there came a fall of snow. In the evening I went to the churchyard. It blew bleak as winter We will write a custom essay on Wuthering Heights Paper specifically for you for only $16.38 $13.9/page Order now all round was solitary. I didn\t fear that her fool of a husband would wander up the glen so late; and no one else had business to bring them there. Being alone, and conscious two yards of loose earth was the sole barrier between us, I said to myself I\ll have her in my arms again! If she be cold, I\ll think it is this north wind that chills ME; and if she be motionless, it is sleep. I got a spade from the tool-house, and began to delve with all my might it scraped the coffin; I fell to work with my hands; the wood commenced cracking about the screws; I was on the point of attaining my object, when it seemed that I heard a sigh from some one above, close at the edge of the grave, and bending down. If I can only get this off, I muttered, I wish they may shovel in the earth over us both! and I wrenched at it more desperately still. There was another sigh, close at my ear. I appeared to feel the warm breath of it displacing the sleet-laden wind. I knew no living thing in flesh and blood was by; but, as certainly as you perceive the approach to some substantial body in the dark, though it cannot be discerned, so certainly I felt that Cathy was there: not under me, but on the earth. A sudden sense of relief flowed from my heart through every limb. I relinquished my labour of agony, and turned consoled at once: unspeakably consoled. Her presence was with me: it remained while I re-filled the grave, and led me home. You may laugh, if you wi ll; but I was sure I should see her there. I was sure she was with me, and I could not help talking to her. Having reached the Heights, I rushed eagerly to the door. It was fastened; and, I remember, that accursed Earnshaw and my wife opposed my entrance. I remember stopping to kick the breath out of him, and then hurrying up-stairs, to my room and hers. I looked round impatiently I felt her by me I could ALMOST see her, and yet I COULD NOT! I ought to have sweat blood then, from the anguish of my yearning from the fervour of my supplications to have but one glimpse! I had not one. She showed herself, as she often was in life, a devil to me! And, since then, sometimes more and sometimes less, I\ve been the sport of that intolerable torture! Infernal! keeping my nerves at such a stretch that, if they had not resembled catgut, they would long ago have relaxed to the feebleness of Linton\s. When I sat in the house with Hareton, it seemed that on going out I should meet her; when I walked on the moors I should meet her coming in. When I went from home I hastened to return; she MUST be somewhere at the Heights, I was certain! And when I slept in her chamber I was beaten out of that. I couldn\t lie there; for the moment I closed my eyes, she was either outside the window, or sliding back the panels, or entering the room, or even resting her darling head on the same pillow as she did when a child; and I must open my lids to see. And so I opened and closed them a hundred times a night to be always disappointed! It racked me! I\ve often groaned aloud, till that old rascal Joseph no doubt believed that my conscience was playing the fiend inside of me. Now, since I\ve seen her, I\m pacified .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5 , .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5 .postImageUrl , .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5 .centered-text-area { min-height: 80px; position: relative; } .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5 , .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5:hover , .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5:visited , .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5:active { border:0!important; } .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5 .clearfix:after { content: ""; display: table; clear: both; } .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5 { display: block; transition: background-color 250ms; webkit-transition: background-color 250ms; width: 100%; opacity: 1; transition: opacity 250ms; webkit-transition: opacity 250ms; background-color: #95A5A6; } .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5:active , .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5:hover { opacity: 1; transition: opacity 250ms; webkit-transition: opacity 250ms; background-color: #2C3E50; } .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5 .centered-text-area { width: 100%; position: relative ; } .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5 .ctaText { border-bottom: 0 solid #fff; color: #2980B9; font-size: 16px; font-weight: bold; margin: 0; padding: 0; text-decoration: underline; } .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5 .postTitle { color: #FFFFFF; font-size: 16px; font-weight: 600; margin: 0; padding: 0; width: 100%; } .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5 .ctaButton { background-color: #7F8C8D!important; color: #2980B9; border: none; border-radius: 3px; box-shadow: none; font-size: 14px; font-weight: bold; line-height: 26px; moz-border-radius: 3px; text-align: center; text-decoration: none; text-shadow: none; width: 80px; min-height: 80px; background: url(https://artscolumbia.org/wp-content/plugins/intelly-related-posts/assets/images/simple-arrow.png)no-repeat; position: absolute; right: 0; top: 0; } .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5:hover .ctaButton { background-color: #34495E!important; } .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5 .centered-text { display: table; height: 80px; padding-left : 18px; top: 0; } .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5 .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5-content { display: table-cell; margin: 0; padding: 0; padding-right: 108px; position: relative; vertical-align: middle; width: 100%; } .uc19e7c3c7a80a34cf61009532d5750b5:after { content: ""; display: block; clear: both; } READ: Richard III monologue from the play by William Shakespeare Essaya little. It was a strange way of killing: not by inches, but by fractions of hairbreadths, to beguile me with the spectre of a hope through eighteen years!

Saturday, March 21, 2020

Consumer Behaviour in E

Consumer Behaviour in E Introduction Retailers are increasing focusing on e-commerce as a tool that they can use in order to gain competitive advantage. However, it is notable that in order for e-commerce to be a truly successful medium, the retailers have to identify the consumer behaviours portrayed towards the same in order to encourage spending. Advertising We will write a custom research paper sample on Consumer Behaviour in E-commerce: Research proposal specifically for you for only $16.05 $11/page Learn More Specifically, the retailers have to learn how consumers behave towards online product display, online payment methods, return services, warranties provided by the online retailers, different methods of product delivery and credit facilities offered by the retailers among others. The typical online purchasing decisions are made in a process comprising of the following stages: 1) need awareness; 2) searching for relevant product information; 3) evaluating available alterna tives; 4) implementing the purchase decision; and 5) Post-purchase decision-making. Hadjiphanis Christou notes that understanding consumer behaviour in e-commerce involves gaining insight on how the people search for product information in an online environment (1). Once understood, the retailer can then customize their websites to meet the specific information needs that consumers need in order to make the purchase decision. Since the online environment gives consumer a wider choice of products and product platforms from where to make their purchases, this study seeks to establish the exact consumer behaviour portrayed in an e-commerce environment and the specific factors that influence such behaviour. The study also seeks to highlight aspects of e-commerce consumer behaviours that the researcher considers important towards helping retailers meet the diverse consumer behaviours presented in an online environment. This study acknowledges that consumer behaviour; just like in the tr aditional marketplace is influenced by personal, lifestyle and psychological factors. As such, the paper will seek how each of the factors affects consumer behaviour and how online retailers can meet the consumers needs highlighted in such behaviours. Lowe defines e-commerce as the act of purchasing an online product (363). This involves ordering the product and making the payment for the same.Advertising Looking for research paper on business economics? Let's see if we can help you! Get your first paper with 15% OFF Learn More Literature Review In a research of e-commerce in Canada, Lowe (363-374) notes that though this new way of purchasing products and services gives consumers a wider choice and is more convenient, it is yet to be embraced by a large percentage of consumers as was predicted when the concept began. Most notably, Canada’s e-commerce by individuals in 2001 was estimated to be worth $2 billion only and represented 0.4 percentage of th e total household spending (Lowe 363). Some of the factors affecting e-commerce by individuals include their access to internet, their willingness to use the internet to purchase products and services, and the products available for purchase on an online setup (Lowe 364). Hadjiphanis Christou argue that in order to understand consumer behaviour in e-commerce, one has to look at the consumer as an information processor; they processes information presented to them by marketers, become aware of the different products presented to them, and finally make a purchase decision (2). Typically, the e-consumers will visit a retail store with the intention of either purchasing an item or simply enjoying the shopping experience. Just like in behaviour portrayed by consumers in traditional purchases, Hadjiphanis Christou states that e-commerce consumers make their decisions based on operational, temporal and spatial considerations (3). Operational dimension: This search strategy is observed i n brand conscious consumers. Such use the search engines to purchase brand items that they already know and possibly use. They value reliability, consistency, quality, affection, trust reputation and loyalty. Brand conscious consumers also have specific expectations when thinking, purchasing or using a specific product. The operational dimension is most noted in early adopters (Hadjiphanis Christou 2). When such is the case, the shoppers go directly to a specific site for purchase instead of using search engines. Spatial dimension: This search strategy is used by consumers who mix their consumption history with new information obtained from internet sources. This means that the consumer’s behaviours are influenced by a mixture of internal habits and external information. Advertising We will write a custom research paper sample on Consumer Behaviour in E-commerce: Research proposal specifically for you for only $16.05 $11/page Learn More In an onlin e environment, consumers are able to use the search tools to support information such on both internal preferences and new information on product and services. Shoppers in this category search for items on sites that rate products. They also use compare items on different shopping sites. Temporal dimension: Hadjiphanis Christou defines the temporal dimension as the time that a consumer takes between his/her first thought about purchasing a product or service and the actual purchase. The online platform is used by shoppers who use the internet as both a transactional medium as well as a search tool. A different group of shoppers engage in recreational shopping where they seek as much information as possible about a product before making the actual purchase. Hadjiphanis Christou notes that the consumer’s behaviour towards a product is affected by any prior knowledge they may possess towards the product, level of interest that they have towards the product, and the ease or c omplexity of information access regarding the product (3). Shoppers in this category use search engines, but can also navigate directly to a shopping site. Consumer value is also identified by Hadjiphanis Christou as a major influence to consumer behaviour in e-commerce (4). Just as is the case in consumer behaviour towards products and services sold in the traditional retail outlets, factors such as perceived benefits and the cost of a product affect consumer behaviour in e-commerce. Approach This study will use a literature review approach whereby, credible published work will be analysed for purposes of giving the researcher a clear perspective of the various factors that affect consumer behaviour in e-commerce. This approach was chosen because consumer behaviour especially in the wake of increased online shopping has been discussed widely by researchers. As such, this study opted to avoid doubling the efforts of other researchers who have carried quantitative surveys in differ ent markets. Instead, this study seeks to use findings published by different scholars in order to establish the real factors that influence consumer behaviour in e-commerce.Advertising Looking for research paper on business economics? Let's see if we can help you! Get your first paper with 15% OFF Learn More Through the review of literature, this study will also seek to establish if different consumer behaviour is portrayed by people in different groups in the society. Such include the wealth versus the middle income earners, the middle-aged as compared to the seniors, and the illiterate versus the more educated. The study will also seek to establish whether the proximity of online shoppers to physical retail shops affect their attitude towards e-commerce. This study will also seek to establish how psychological, social and cultural factors among other demographic variables affect consumer behaviour. The study also establishes that intervening variables such as brands, marketing communication by marketers and firm capabilities affect consumer behaviour. Conclusion Consumer behaviour in e-commerce is a reflection of different factors that integrate to influence the consumer’s decision making. In addition to culture, social norms, psychological factors and demographic factors, othe r factors such as product characteristics, consumer skills, firm capabilities, marketing communications, brand, and website features all work together to influence consumer’s purchasing attitudes. Notably, the consumer’s desire to purchase products that offer him/her quality service, or meets some of his/her other needs also affect purchasing behaviour. This then raises the need for detailed information regarding the product or service. Usually, it is the prerogative of the online retailer to provide the information about the specific product to online shoppers. If the shopper feels that not enough information has been provided by the retailer, then he or she is most likely to navigate to other e-commerce sites where more satisfactory information is offered. Other considerations that the retailers need to make in order to impact positively on consumer behaviour include ease of information access and transactions. The retailers also need to guarantee payment security and publish well articulated product purchase policies. Some of other factors that affect consumer behaviour in e-commerce include the status of the online shopper and their esteem towards specific products. Ethics is also increasingly affecting consumer behaviour especially at a time when being environment friendly is being touted as the only way to save earth from self-destruction. The amount of fun associated with a product is however a key consideration to consumer behaviour, just as is the case with aesthetics. This means that the product may not be high quality, but its desirable package may make more consumers attracted to it. Hadjiphanis, Lycourgos Christou, Loizos. â€Å"The Role of E-Commerce on Consumer Behaviour†. The Journal of Business Administration 5.1 (2006): 1-7. Lowe, Robin. â€Å"E-Commerce and Consumer Behaviour†. Statistics Canada (2003):363-374.

Wednesday, March 4, 2020

Thesis Statement Writing Tips and Guides

Thesis Statement Writing Tips and Guides Useful Tips on Writing a Good Thesis Statement for an Essay What is a thesis statement? How should it look like? Newbies are sick and tired of answering those questions. A thesis statement is actually a movie trailer for your major work. It highlights the key ideas and aspects of the topic. Although it may seem easy to write, a thesis statement becomes a major challenge for 100% of students no matter how good they are at essay writing. Our tips will make the process simpler and less time-consuming. We do hope you will find them handy. The importance of thesis statement Here are the key points that describe the importance of the thesis statement: It showcases your ideas; It organizes the argument; It contains guidelines for the reader; It establishes claims for a dispute. Types of thesis statements All thesis statements can be divided into two main types: debatable and non-debatable. Make sure you clearly understand the difference before you use any of those types: The debatable thesis is a statement that considers opinion readers may agree or disagree; The non-debatable thesis is a statement that does not reserve any place for readers to debate. What is a proper length of a thesis statement? Avoid writing too long thesis statements. Most students get into a trap when writing huge papers. They think that the length of the thesis statement depends on the volume of a general paper. Well, it does not. The shorter and narrower your thesis, the better. Two or three sentences are more than enough to get your readers intrigued. The thesis should have a claim for a future dispute. Types of thesis statement claims Each claim refers to a particular type and category. They are as follows: Definition or common fact; Event and Result (cause and effect); Value of the category described; Policies and solutions. Include the claim depending on your readers’ type. The audience always matters when it comes to choosing the right claim for your thesis statement. Tips to build a thesis statement Follow our easy tips to construct a solid thesis statement that will grab readers’ attention: Explore and research the sources – you need to analyze all the information you generate from different sources. Compare and contrast all facts to establish your own opinion on the topic; Always make notes – write down everything that comes up to your head. Make sure you always hold a pen or pencil; Include your thesis in the introduction – a thesis statement should be the last part of the introductory paragraph; Provide counterarguments – a thesis statement should encourage your readers on further debates and discussions. Anticipating counterarguments will be a good idea. To know if your thesis is good, try to answer some of the following questions: Does it contain answers to the essay questions? Is the thesis statement specific? Does the major work support your thesis? If the answers are â€Å"Yes†, you have done a great job!

Monday, February 17, 2020

Research a hospitality business Essay Example | Topics and Well Written Essays - 2000 words

Research a hospitality business - Essay Example Starbucks has been in the UK since 1998 when they purchased 65 Seattle Coffee stores that were already located in the UK. The reason that Starbucks bought these companies was because they shared a common culture. Both companies had a commitment to create customised coffee, they had similar values, a mutual respect for their customers, their employees, and they had a commitment to the environment. This information prompted them to buy Seattle Coffee as a way to reach out to the UK community (Starbucks Coffee Company, 2011a). Overview of the Business Starbucks actually began in 1971 when they were a roaster and a retailer for whole bean, ground coffee, and tea and spices. At that time, they owned one store in Pike Place Market in Seattle, WA, USA. They were a private company at that time and did not become a public company until 1992 and 1993. At that time, they decided to look for locations in large cities so that they would have a 'hub' store with smaller stores around in these locat ions. They hired what they called 'zone presidents' to oversee the new stores; each zone president had many years of experience in marketing chain stores (Thompson and Gamble, 1997). Starbucks was able to easily identify those retail sites that would be best for theirs stores. They hired a real estate team who was versed in the coffee bar industry and they instituted a 'sophisticated system' that allowed them to identify the locations that would be best for their stores. They were able to track each area in such a way that they also found attractive city blocks where they could start their stores (Thompson and Gamble, 1997). Today, they have 17,000 companies in 50 countries and they continue to grow (Starbucks Coffee Company, 2011a). Starbucks took its name from the book, Moby Dick by Herman Melville. Starbucks was the name of the first mate in the story. They boast that they have millions of customers world wide and they enjoy serving them the best coffee possible. Starbucks has 70 0 stores across the UK (Farrell, 2010). Every business must start with a mission and Starbucks mission is 'to inspire and nurture the human spirit – one person, one cup and one neighbourhood at a time' (Starbucks Coffee Company, 2011b, p.1). With this mission, they know exactly what they want to do when they go into each new country or new city. Processes and Systems Starbucks has been able to institute specific processes and systems in their company that worked. They have used the same system in each of the countries they moved into because it worked. Food and beverages purchasing Starbucks purchases coffee from farmers around the world. They basically have four brands that they sell all of their beverages under. These brands are: 'Starbucks Coffee, Seattle’s Best Coffee, Tazo Tea, and Torrefazione Italia Coffee' (Starbucks Coffee Company, 2011b, p.2). In the UK, Starbucks has only introduced a few of its products which include: Via, a new instant coffee that people c an purchase at Tesco stores Starbucks Whole Bean Coffees, Starbucks Discoveries Chilled Coffees, and Starbucks Doubleshot Expresso drinks (Puget Sound Business Journal, 2010). Dave Olsen who is Starbucks' senior vice president for coffee, travelled around the world to coffee growing companies and talked to farmers to find the richest quality coffee beans that would produce the best flavour. Starbucks bought the beans above the price that they would